Day 29.

Day 29. In case you’re wondering how my subconscious is handling all this quarantine stuff, last night I dreamed that I was the Queen of England. As you might imagine, this came as quite a shock, considering I’ve never been to the UK and also since, in my dream, QE2 was apparently still alive and well, and had merely grown tired of all the pomp & circumstance. So she did away with all the lines of succession stuff and notified me via email that it was my turn. They had me living in a warehouse and tasked me with cleaning out a large swimming pool after a swim class of toddlers went, um, horribly wrong. So I don’t think the job is nearly as glamorous as they’d have us believe.

We’ve entered a really fun time of year here in the upper Midwest: Bunny season! Every year, Mama Bunny decides the best place to make her little burrow and have her helpless little babies is on a hillside. Right outside our back door. So between Luna and Betsy “helping” the babies leave the nest, and the babies just peeking out on their own and subsequently tumbling down the hillside, it’s a veritable bunny battle field out there. “OH NO DON’T EAT THE EASTER BUNNY!” is a pretty common plea from Harriet these days.

Shrinky Dinks have arrived! Harriet’s first batches include Homer & Lisa Simpson (“What?? They’re my favorite!” WTF?), a bunch of sad little COVIDs, and “This machine that cleans up dead fish from the ocean.”

This weekend we are foregoing our usual trip to Chicago. It’s unsettling not to spend the holiday all together. So we’ll color eggs and bake and try to make the togetherness (so. much. togetherness.) a little more special. Hopefully we will avoid rabbit carnage in the backyard, just for one day.

Be well & be gentle with yourselves!

Leave a comment